Hispanic Heritage Week

What do you know about South America?

Let's review some South America facts to help you to get acquainted with it, or simply to refresh some basic facts and figures as a manner of introduction.

The Western Hemisphere, or the Americas as they are commonly known, is composed by North America , Central and South America.

South America is the fourth largest continent in the world with aprox. 17,849,000 square km. (6,890,000 square miles) and a population of 371,090,000, estimated by 2005.

Connected through the isthmus of Panama to its northern counterpart, it is bordered by the Pacific ocean to the West and Atlantic ocean to the North and East. 

It is politically divided into twelve sovereign states: ArgentinaBoliviaBrazilChileColombia
Ecuador,GuyanaParaguayPeruSurinameUruguay and Venezuela, plus the overseas administration of French Guiana.

Hispanic Heritage Week

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you!